Strictly speaking, the new 2022 Bosch motor isn’t exactly new. However, everything around it is. Confused? In a nutshell, the new Smart System is based on Bosch’s current Performance Line CX motor and features a massive 750 Wh PowerTube battery, new display and remotes as well as a new speed sensor. Compared to its predecessor, the latest generation of Bosch’s motor offers more and better connectivity features and anti-theft protection. We’ve already tested the new Bosch Smart System for you.

Before we get into the review, we would like to tell you about our latest print edition. The E-MOUNTAINBIKE Print Edition 2021 is our fourth annual edition and the ultimate guide in your search for the perfect eMTB. Spread over 260 pages of high-quality print, we offer you a comprehensive buyer’s guide, reviews and details of 35 bikes and a group test of the 8 most exciting motors. You’ll also find many helpful tips and a guide to the most exciting eMTB trends – all of this is wrapped in a high quality print format. Click here for more information or order it directly in our shop!

The motor hardware of the new Bosch system remains (mostly) unchanged

Needless to say, the motor of an eMTB is a lot more than just an electrical machine that converts electricity into kinetic energy. While it’s true that without a motor you’d be fighting your way up the mountain solely with the power of your legs, there are several other components that have a great impact on the overall performance of an eMTB motor system: the battery, display, remote, wiring harness, countless sensors and, last but not least, the motor software. With the new Smart System implemented in the 2022 Bosch Performance Line CX, Bosch have carried over some of the core hardware components of the previous model, like the electric motor and internal gearbox that are enclosed inside the magnesium housing. All other parts, such as remotes, displays, the cable harness and its connectors, have been redesigned from the ground up – and the software has undergone major changes too. But is the new system compatible with its predecessor? Sadly, no. Bosch have fundamentally revised the system, heralding a new and smart era in the history of their Performance Line CX motor. That’s why we call it the “new” Performance Line CX Smart System even though it’s based on the same motor.

Bosch Performance Line CX Smart System
85 Nm | 2.79 kg | 4 support levels | Manufacturer’s website

The new 750 Wh Bosch PowerTube 750 battery

With a capacity of 750 Wh, the new PowerTube 750 is currently the biggest energy storage unit in Bosch’s portfolio, except for the Dual Battery system, which has been around for some time and combines two PowerTube 625 batteries for a total of 1250 Wh. However, the heavy Dual Battery system isn’t a sensible option for sporty eMTBs, which makes the new PowerTube 750 battery a welcome addition to Bosch’s portfolio. While a 20% capacity increase over the PowerTube 625 model is great news, the extra Watts don’t come for free, both in terms of money and weight. Here’s why: the PowerTube 750 employs the same cells as the 625 version, only more of them. As a result, the larger battery is approximately 7 cm longer and almost 20% heavier, weighing in at exactly 4.38 kg. For bike designers, however, this also entails a whole new set of challenges with respect to handling, stiffness and down tube construction. On the other hand, Bosch also redesigned and moved the connector and at the same time revised the wiring harness. This allows bike manufacturers to integrate the new battery deeper into the frame and closer to the motor while ensuring a lower center of gravity.

The brand-new PowerTube 750 battery. For the time being, the PowerTube 750 is the only battery compatible with the new Smart System.

With the new connector also comes a new charger that according to Bosch charges the PowerTube 750 up to 50% in around 2 hours and 100% in about 6 hours using 4 A charging current. The PowerTube batteries and the system are neither forward nor backward compatible, making the PowerTube 750 the only battery compatible with the Smart System – at least for now. As a result, bikes like the Lapierre Overvolt GLP2 and Rotwild R.X375, which were deliberately equipped with a smaller battery, won’t be available with the new Bosch system any time soon.

For now, the new PoweTube 750 is the only battery compatible with the Smart System. As a result, bikes with the smaller battery will be missing out on the new Bosch system, at least for now

There’s no catch: the battery connector interface was redesigned from the ground up and moved, allowing bike manufacturers to integrate the battery deeper into the frame.
Same technology: the Powertube 750 employs the same cells as the 625 model, only more of them. This increases both the weight and capacity by around 20% compared to the PowerTube 625.

New displays and remotes for the Bosch Performance Line CX

With the release of the Nyon navigation display at the end of 2020, Bosch have proved that they really know a thing or two about connectivity and displays. In our navigation system group test the Nyon secured Best in Test as the ideal companion for tour and trekking riders. The small Kiox display, on the other hand, offers poor readability and sits right on top of the handlebars, where it’s exposed to impacts. As a result, it’s suitable for trail riding, but only to a certain extent. Here, the robust (and bulky) Purion display would be a more sensible option, but unfortunately has just as many connectivity features as a church clock: none! Luckily, the new Smart System puts an end to this! The new system is modular and allows for different display/remote configurations and to connect them to external third-party devices – awesome! As for now, the Kiox 300 display and LED Remote function as the control unit of all eMTBs with the Bosch Smart System, but we’re sure that more options will be available in the future: what would be the point of introducing a new modular system otherwise?

Welcome to the future: when it comes to compact displays and remotes, Bosch have always lagged behind the competition. With the new Kiox generation, however, the Germans are finally catching up with the competition by introducing a fully connected, modular system.

The new Bosch LED Remote

The Bosch LED Remote is the control unit of the new Smart System. The compact remote ensures good ergonomics and lets you operate the entire system intuitively with your left thumb. Both the position and haptic feedback of the remote make it easy to switch between support modes on the trail without having to take your hands off the handlebars. Unlike the Purion display, the LED Remote made it easy to adapt the ergonomics of the cockpit of our Centurion test bike with Shimano XT brakes and matching dropper remote to the needs and preferences of our test riders: finally! The remote shows the battery charge status via LEDs in (relatively) fine-graded 10% increments, while a colour-coded circle around the Bosch logo tells you which support level you’re using – more than enough for purists! If you want more riding data, you can use either the Kiox display or the free eBike Flow app, which pairs with the remote via Bluetooth and connects your eMTB to the Internet.

The new Bosch LED Remote provides all the important riding data, allowing mountain bike purists and tech minimalists to ride without a display.

The new Bosch Kiox 300 display

Fancy counting pixels? Not really? If the stem-mounted Nyon navigation system is too much for you, the Kiox 300 high-quality display is a great alternative. Unlike its predecessor, the new Kiox 300 has no buttons at all, but then the new LED Remote has you covered with all the basic controls. With the latest Kiox generation, Bosch rely on a robust and adjustable display holder that allows you to change the position of the display on the handlebar. With the old Kiox mount, the display was exposed to impacts and could easily get damaged in a crash. This should be a problem of the past with the latest Kiox 300 because the display is tucked away between the handlebar and stem. Furthermore, Bosch improved display readability and menu navigation. One of the most practical features is the range indicator, which gives you an estimate of the remaining range in all support modes.

The new Bosch Kiox 300 display provides all the important riding data and, like its predecessor, enables turn-by-turn navigation when connected to a smartphone.
Enough juice to finish my ride? The range overview feature displays the estimated range for each support level – practical!
Bike manufacturers lead the way, Bosch follow suit. The German tech giant replaced the exposed stem mount with a handlebar clamp.

Modular, individual and with improved wiring

While the modular system gives riders the freedom to use their eMTB with or without a Kiox 300 display, smaller modular connectors make it easier for bike manufacturers to integrate the Smart System into their bikes, ensuring easier cable routing and a cleaner overall look. With the old Kiox display, the chunky data cable that connects the remote with the display winds around the handlebar like a wild vine. On our test bike, the data cable is routed through the handlebars – neat! Despite the additional headlight, the cockpit of our Centurion test bike looks extremely tidy. Not as tidy is the black plastic cover that conceals a slot in the top tube of our test bike. On the other hand, this suggests that Bosch have even more exciting features in the pipeline. Coincidentally, that’s exactly where the MasterMind display is integrated on many Specialized eMTBs. Could the German tech giant be working on a similar system?

On many Specialized eMTB models, the opening in the top tube accommodates the MasterMind display. On our test bike, this area is covered by a rubber plug. Are the guys at Bosch working on a similar system?

The eBike Flow app – Customizable support levels and improved connectivity

We’ve had the exclusive opportunity to test the beta version of the new eBike Flow app even before its official release. Both pairing and re-establishing the connection between the smartphone and the eMTB is super fast and intuitive. Particularly exciting is how the speed sensor interacts with the GPS data of the smartphone, allowing the eBike Flow app to detect whether you’re riding your bike or covering a section of your route by car or train and then resume (or pause) tracking accordingly.

Of course, the Smart System also works without a smartphone! The eBike Flow app is a useful supplement to the Smart System and enables tracking, navigation as well as over-the-air system updates.

Unfortunately, we haven’t been able to test the most exciting feature yet, which allows you to adjust the support levels of the new Smart System motor individually. In a nutshell, the feature lets you adapt the modulation, maximum torque, support level and speed of the modes with a fixed support factor, like Eco and Turbo – of course within the framework of the legal regulations. The dynamic progressive eMTB and Tour + modes can’t be customized.

What many of us have been waiting for: the eBike Flow app allows you to customise the support levels of the new Bosch motor.

Alongside countless route-stats, the eBike Flow app provides all the crucial information about service intervals and software updates, which can be uploaded from your smartphone directly to the Bosch motor system over-the-air. The eBike Flow app will be available for iOS and Android from autumn 2021 and is only compatible with the latest Smart System. When paired with the optional ConnectModule, which can be retrofitted to many eMTBs with the Smart System, the eBike Flow app also offers anti-theft protection and a bike-tracking feature, which are made possible by a chip integrated deep inside the motor system.

New Bosch Performance Line CX Smart System – Our first ride review

We’ve had the exclusive opportunity to test the new Bosch Performance Line CX Smart System over several weeks before its official launch. First things first: the riding behavior and riding dynamics of the “new” Bosch motor haven’t changed at all. The overall riding experience and usability, on the other hand, have changed significantly – and definitely for the better!

Great as usual! In terms of riding performance, the new Performance Line CX motor isn’t any different from the previous version and still delivers the same outstanding performance, especially in the eMTB mode on technical climbs.

Using the factory settings and without customising the support levels from the eBike Flow app, the new Smart System offers pretty much the same characteristics and almost identical ride feeling as the previous Performance CX motor, which provides 340% assistance – and delivered an impressive performance in our motor group test, especially when negotiating technical climbs in the progressive eMTB mode. Unfortunately, the latest Smart System doesn’t allow this mode to be customized. Bosch throw in one more dynamic progressive mode, which is called Tour+ and adapts its support between Eco and Turbo depending on the riding situation. The support is significantly weaker and less abrupt than in the eMTB mode, allowing light riders to negotiate technical climbs without the rear wheel spinning out of control and everyone else to save battery on long rides. The Tour+ mode has already been available as a software update from July 2021 for the previous Performance Line CX motor.
Unfortunately, the new Smart System motor has inherited the distinctive clunking noise from its predecessor, proudly announcing its presence every time the chain exerts force on the chainring, for example when the suspension compresses on rough descents with roots carpets and brake bumps. What a pity! On the other hand, the new Bosch LED Remote and Kiox 300 display make it extremely easy to operate the new motor. In terms of legibility, ergonomics, ease of use, logic and menu navigation, Bosch literally knocked it out of the park with the new Smart System and also managed to integrate the new eBike Flow app seamlessly into the motor system. Finally, the Bosch team caught up with some of their fiercest competitors and are able to offer a well-thought-out modular system that lets you choose to configure your cockpit with or without a display – very cool! At least that’s the case with future bike models because the displays and remotes of the Smart System as well as all its exciting software features, like the adjustable support levels, aren’t compatible with the current Bosch system. This is due to the new system architecture, which relies on smaller modular connectors to hook up the motor to the battery, display and remote. On the other hand, the new standard enables a whole new range of exciting features. In our opinion, however, it would make a lot more sense if the current (and excellent!) Nyon navigation display were compatible with the new Smart System, especially for touring and trekking bikes. Sporty riders who attach great importance to nimble handling will miss the lighter 625 Wh battery. That being said, we’re sure that Bosch are planning to release more exciting components and software updates in the near future.

Chief of testing Felix feels like a boss with the new Bosch motor. Now it’s up to you to decide whether you want to ride with or without a display. Excellent!

The new PowerTube 750 could put an end to the “range anxiety” which seems to be spreading amongst eMTBers. Although a 20% increase in battery capacity doesn’t necessarily bump up the range by 20%, the new 750 Wh battery should allow for longer rides than its smaller 625 Wh counterpart. Whether and to what extent the weight and size of the battery affect the handling of the latest eMTBs with the new Smart System depends on how bike manufacturers integrate the battery into their bikes. We’re excited to see what solutions bike brands will come up with in the future.

Bikes with the new Bosch Performance CX motor

Haibike AllMtn CF SE | Bosch Performance Line CX Smart System/750 Wh | 160/160 mm (f/r)
25.22 kg in size L | € 7,999 | Click for our news article
GHOST E-RIOT AM Full Party | Bosch Performance Line CX Smart System/750 Wh | 160/160 mm (f/r) | 25.16 kg in size L | € 6,999 | Click for our news article
BULLS Copperhead Evo AM 3 750 | Bosch Performance Line CX Smart System/750 Wh | 150/150 mm (f/r) | 26.5 kg | € 5,099 | Click for our news article

Conclusions

While the riding performance of the Bosch Performance Line CX Smart System motor hasn’t changed, the whole new ecosystem around it has taken usability and ergonomics to a whole new level! With the modular system built around the remote, display and app, Bosch knocked it out of the park by managing to ensure intuitive operation while allowing end-users to customise the support levels of the motor to suit their needs and preferences. Regrettably, the annoying clunking noise is still clearly audible while the owners of ebikes with the current Bosch motor won’t be able to benefit from any of the exciting new features. Nevertheless, we’re curious to see how bike manufacturers will integrate the big battery into their frame designs and what updates and innovations Bosch have in the works.

More information at: bosch-ebike.com


Did you enjoy this article? If so, we would be stoked if you decide to support us with a monthly contribution. By becoming a supporter of E-MOUNTAINBIKE, you will help secure a sustainable future for high-quality cycling journalism. Click here to learn more.

Words: Felix Stix Photos: Robin Schmitt, Jonas Müssig

About the author

Felix Stix

Felix is chief of testing and undoubtedly one of the best test riders in the world. With a degree in sports engineering, excellent mountain bike skills, his love of technology and as a certified bike guide, Felix has everything it takes to make comprehensive and fair assessments of bikes. His legendary group tests are internationally known and feared, though they tend to be a bit longer due to his love of detail and technical deep dives. Every year, he reviews around 100 bikes, specialising in the subject of tires, motors and suspension, before putting on his skis come winter! His know-how is incorporated into each of our reviews, ensuring the quality of our work stays high!

Der neue Bosch-Motor für 2022 ist gar nicht neu – zumindest nicht im engeren Sinne. Dafür kommt das neue Bosch Smart System rund um den bekannten Bosch Performance Line CX-Motor mit riesigem 750-Wh-PowerTube-Akku, ganz neuem Display, neuen Remotes, besserer Connectivity, und Diebstahlschutz. Wir haben den exklusiven Test!

Bevor wir in den Testbericht einsteigen, möchten wir dich noch kurz auf unsere frisch erschienene Jahresausgabe hinweisen. Die E-MOUNTAINBIKE Print-Edition 2021 ist der ultimative Leitfaden für deine Suche nach dem perfekten E-Mountainbike. Auf 270 Seiten bieten wir dir eine umfassende Kaufberatung sowie Tests und Infos zu 35 Bikes und einen Vergleich der 8 spannendsten Motoren. Außerdem gibt es jede Menge Know-how, Tipps und die aufregendsten E-MTB-Trends. Hier klicken für mehr Infos oder direkt in unserem Shop bestellen!

Die Motor-Hardware des neuen Bosch-Systems bleibt (fast) gleich

Ein E-Mountainbike-Motor ist viel mehr als die elektrische Maschine, die die im Akku gespeicherte Energie in kinetische Energie umwandelt. Klar, ohne sie bleibt nur die eigene Muskelkraft zum Vortrieb des Bikes, doch Komponenten wie Akku, Remotes, Displays, Kabelbaum, Sensorik und vor allem Software bestimmen die Gesamtperformance des Motorsystems eines E-Mountainbikes maßgeblich. Beim neuen Bosch Smart System des Performance Line CX 2022 bleiben einige Hardware-Komponenten wie die elektrische Maschine und das Getriebe im Inneren des Magnesiumgehäuses weitgehend gleich. Alle anderen Komponenten des Gesamtsystems wie Remotes und Displays bis hin zum Kabelbaum und den Steckern sind aber komplett neu entwickelt. Und auch in Sachen Software hat sich einiges getan. Kompatibilität zum Vorgänger? Fehlanzeige. Bosch hat das System grundlegend überarbeitet und startet eine neue, laut eigener Aussage „smarte Ära“ in der Geschichte des Performance Line CX-Motors. Deshalb sprechen wir trotz gleichem „Motor“ vom neuen Performance Line CX Smart System.

Bosch Performance Line CX Smart System
85 Nm | 2,79 kg | 4 Unterstützungsstufen | Hersteller-Website

Der neue Bosch PowerTube 750-Akku mit 750 Wh

Der neue PowerTube 750-Akku ist mit seinen 750 Wh Kapazität der größte Akku in Boschs Portfolio. Klar, bisher sind dank DualBattery bis zu 1.250 Wh aus zwei PowerTube 625 möglich. An sportlichen E-Mountainbikes lässt sich das DualBattery-System aber nicht sinnvoll umsetzen, wodurch der PowerTube 750 ein Kapazitätsupgrade von 20 % ermöglicht. Den Preis für den größeren Akku zahlt man nicht nur an der Kasse, sondern auch an der Waage. Denn im PowerTube 750 stecken die gleichen Zellen wie im 625er-Modell, nur eben mehr davon – deshalb ist der etwa 7 cm längere Akku mit 4,38 kg auch fast 20 % schwerer. Dadurch stellt er die Bike-Entwickler beim Thema Handling, Steifigkeit und Unterrohrkonstruktion vor neue Herausforderungen. Die neuen Steckverbinder und deren angepasste Position sowie der überarbeitete Kabelbaum haben es dem Entwicklungsteam im Gegenzug aber auch ermöglicht, den Akku noch näher am Motor und somit – für einen besseren Schwerpunkt – möglichst tief im Bike zu integrieren.

Der brandneue PowerTube 750-Akku. Mit 750 Wh Kapazität bleibt er vorerst der einzige Akku, der mit dem neuen Smart System kompatibel ist.

Mit dem neuen Connector hält auch ein neues Ladegerät Einzug, das den PowerTube 750 mit 4A Ladestrom in 2 h etwa zur Hälfte und in rund 6 h vollständig laden soll. Die PowerTube-Akkus und das System sind weder auf- noch abwärtskompatibel, wodurch der PowerTube 750 zumindest vorerst der einzige Akku für das Smart System ist. E-Mountainbikes wie das Lapierre Overvolt GLP2 oder das ROTWILD R.X375, die bewusst auf einen kleineren Akku setzen, wird es zunächst nicht mit dem neuen Bosch-System geben.

Das Smart System ist vorerst nur mit dem neuen 750-Wh-Akku kompatibel. Smarte Bosch-E-Mountainbikes mit einer (oftmals sinnvoll) geringeren Akkukapazität gibt es erst mal nicht. Gerade E-Biker, die maximale Trailperformance und ein geringes Gewicht wünschen, werden hier vermutlich Kompromisse eingehen müssen.

Keine Schikane: Aus Platzgründen setzt Bosch auf eine neue Position und ein neues Interface des Connectors am Akku.
Keine Technologie-Revolution: Im PowerTube 750 stecken mehr Zellen des gleichen Typs. So steigern sich Gewicht und Kapazität um etwa 20 % gegenüber dem 625-Wh-Modell.

Neue Displays und Remotes für den Bosch Performance Line CX

Mit dem Nyon-Navigationsdisplay hat das Team von Bosch Ende 2020 bereits gezeigt, dass es in Sachen Displays und Connectivity richtig was kann. Als perfekter Begleiter für Touren- und Trekkingbiker sicherte sich das Nyon sogar unseren Testsieg im Fahrrad-Navi-Vergleichstest. Das kleinere Kiox-Display war mit seiner schlechten Ablesbarkeit bei Sonneneinstrahlung und seiner exponierten Lage bisher nur bedingt für den harten Traileinsatz geeignet. Besser war in solchen Fällen das robuste, aber klobige Purion, das ungefähr genauso viel Connectivity bot wie eine Kirchenuhr: keine. Damit ist jetzt endlich Schluss! Mit dem modularen Bosch Smart System setzt der schwäbische Weltkonzern die Grundlage dafür, dass sich Remotes und Displays des Bosch Smart Systems nach Belieben kombinieren lassen, und auch Drittgeräte werden unterstützt. Cool! Vorerst bilden das Kiox 300-Display und die LED-Remote das Cockpit aller E-Mountainbikes mit Bosch Smart System. Doch wir sind uns sicher, dass es hier in Zukunft noch mehr Auswahl geben wird. Wozu bräuchte man sonst ein modulares System?

Welcome to the Future: Bei kompakten Displays und Remotes war Bosch bisher in der Vergangenheit unterwegs. Die neue Kiox-Generation ist hingegen voll vernetzt und modular.

Die neue Bosch LED-Remote

Die Bosch LED-Remote bildet die Steuerzentrale des neuen Smart Systems. Mit der kompakten Remote lässt sich das gesamte System ergonomisch und intuitiv mit dem linken Daumen bedienen. Sowohl die Positionierung als auch das haptische Feedback machen es leicht, im Eifer des Trails den Fahrmodus zu wechseln, ohne den Griff vom Lenker zu lösen. Denn im Gegensatz zum Purion-Display hatten wir an unserem CENTURION-Test-Bike mit Shimano XT-Bremse und passender Dropper-Remote keine Probleme, die Cockpit-Ergonomie perfekt auf all unsere Testfahrer einzustellen – endlich! Über LEDs zeigt die Remote den Ladezustand des Akkus in relativ feinen 10-%-Schritten anhand eleganter Lichtbalken an. Die Farbe rund um das Bosch-Logo gibt Auskunft über die Unterstützungsstufe. Für Puristen absolut ausreichend! Mehr Informationen liefert entweder das Kiox 300-Display oder die kostenlose eBike Flow-App, die via Bluetooth mit der Remote verbunden ist und das E-Mountainbike mit der Außenwelt vernetzt.

Die neue Bosch LED-Remote liefert alle wichtigen Fahrdaten, wodurch Puristen ganz auf ein Display verzichten können.

Das neue Bosch Kiox 300-Display

Pixel zählen? Fehlanzeige. Mit dem Kiox 300-Display kommen endlich auch E-Mountainbiker, die kein großes Nyon-Navi auf dem Vorbau haben möchten, in den Genuss eines hochwertigen Displays. Anders als der Vorgänger kommt das Kiox 300 ganz ohne Tasten – schließlich sind alle grundlegenden Funktionen in der LED-Remote gebündelt. Dafür setzt Bosch bei der neuesten Kiox-Generation auf einen robusten Display-Halter, der mehrere Befestigungspositionen am Lenker ermöglicht. In der Vergangenheit sorgte die exponierte Position auf dem Vorbau bei einem Crash oftmals für Defekte. In Zukunft sollte das neue Kiox 300 jedoch zwischen Lenker und Vorbau gut geschützt sein. Auch die Lesbarkeit sowie die Menüführung wurden verbessert. Super praktisch ist die Reichweitenanzeige, die einen groben Überblick über die theoretische Restreichweite in allen Fahrmodi bietet.

Das neue Bosch Kiox 300-Display liefert alle wichtigen Fahrinfos. In Sachen Navigation hat es jedoch vorerst keine Funktionen. Wir sind gespannt, ob es ein Update geben wird!
„Schaffe ich meine Tour noch?“ Die neue Übersicht zeigt die theoretische Restreichweite in Abhängigkeit der Unterstützungsstufen an – praktisch!
Bikehersteller haben es vorgemacht, Bosch hat nachgezogen. Statt das Display weiterhin exponiert auf dem Vorbau zu positionen, setzt Bosch jetzt auf eine Klemmung am Lenker.

Modular, individuell, besser verkabelt

Während ihr euch freut, dass ihr euer E-Mountainbike dank modularem System nun endlich mit oder ohne Kiox 300-Display nutzen könnt, freuen sich die Bikehersteller vor allem über die modularen und kleineren Steckverbinder zwischen Remote, Display und Motor. Immerhin lässt sich dadurch die Zugverlegung einfacher und vor allem viel „versteckter“ umsetzen. Während sich das Kabel zwischen Remote und Kiox früher oft wie eine Liane um den Lenker schlang, lässt sich die kabelgebundene Verbindung jetzt wie bei anderen Motorherstellern im Inneren des Lenkers verstecken. Das Cockpit unseres CENTURION-Test-Bikes ist so trotz zusätzlicher Lampe super aufgeräumt. Weniger clean an unserem Test-Bike ist das Plastikcover, das eine Aussparung im Oberrohr verdeckt, aber vielleicht schon einen entscheidenden Hinweis auf die Zukunft gibt – schließlich sitzt bei E-Mountainbikes von Specialized hier das MasterMind-Display. Ob wir von Bosch in Zukunft ein ähnliches Display sehen werden?

Wo hier ein Plastikcover aufgebracht ist, befindet sich ein Loch im Oberrohr. Und bei vielen E-Mountainbikes von Specialized sitzt an dieser Stelle das MasterMind-Display. Ob wir von Bosch in Zukunft ein ähnliches Display sehen werden?

Anpassbare Unterstützungsstufen und verbesserte Connectivity dank eBike Flow-App

Wir hatten bereits exklusiv die Möglichkeit, eine Entwicklungsversion der neuen eBike Flow-App vorab für euch zu testen. Sowohl das Pairing als auch das Wiederherstellen der Verbindung zwischen Smartphone und E-Mountainbike ist super schnell und absolut intuitiv. Spannend ist die Kombination der GPS-Daten des Handys mit dem Signal des Geschwindigkeitssensors. So erkennt die eBike Flow-App automatisch, ob ihr gerade auf eurem Bike eine Tour macht oder ob ihr eure Strecke gerade im Auto oder Zug zurücklegt, und startet bzw. stoppt die Routenaufzeichnung entsprechend – vollautomatisch.

Fährt natürlich auch ohne Handy: Die eBike Flow-App ist eine Ergänzung zum Smart System und liefert neben Tracking und Co. auch Over-the-air-Updates für das gesamte System.

Das heißeste Feature konnten wir vorab aber noch nicht für euch testen: Mit dem Smart System setzt Bosch auf anpassbare Unterstützungsstufen. So lassen sich die Fahrmodi mit „starrem“ Unterstützungsfaktor in ihrer Dynamik, ihrem maximalen Drehmoment, der Stärke der Unterstützung sowie der Geschwindigkeit (im Rahmen der gesetzlichen Regularien) anpassen. Die dynamisch progressiven Fahrmodi eMTB und Tour+ lassen sich nicht individualisieren.

Darauf haben viele lange gewartet: Dank eBike Flow-App lassen sich die Unterstützungsstufen individualisieren.

Neben zahlreichen Statistiken zu euren Routen bietet die eBike Flow-App alle Infos zu ausstehenden Serviceterminen und Updates, die over the air von eurem Handy auf das Bosch-Motorsystem aufgespielt werden. Die eBike Flow-App ist ab Herbst 2021 für iOS und Android verfügbar und nur mit dem Smart System kompatibel. In Kombination mit dem optionalen ConnectModule, das in Zukunft an vielen E-Mountainbikes mit Smart System nachgerüstet werden kann, liefert die eBike Flow-App einen tief ins Motorsystem integrierten Diebstahlschutz und Bike-Tracking.

Unser erster Testeindruck vom neuen Bosch Performance Line CX Smart System

Wir hatten bereits exklusiv die Möglichkeit, das neue Bosch Performance Line CX Smart System über mehrere Wochen für euch zu testen. Eines vorweg: Das Fahrverhalten bzw. die Fahrdynamik des „neuen“ Bosch-Motors hat sich nicht verändert. Sehr wohl aber das Fahrerlebnis und die Bedienbarkeit – und zwar sehr positiv!

Die Fahrleistung des Performance Line CX ist unverändert gut – im technischen Uphill ist sie nach wie vor besonders im eMTB-Modus top!

Ohne individuelle Anpassung der Unterstützungsstufen in der eBike Flow-App entsprechen die Abstimmung, Kraftentfaltung und das Fahrgefühl des Smart Systems dem bisherigen Performance Line CX, der mit seinen 340 % Unterstützungsfaktor und dem progressiven eMTB-Modus in unserem Motorenvergleichstest besonders auf technischen Uphills überzeugt. Zwar lässt sich der Modus auch beim Smart System nicht individualisieren. Dafür steht mit dem Tour+ aber ein weiterer dynamisch progressiver Modus zur Auswahl, der seine Unterstützung zwischen Eco und Turbo an die Fahrsituation anpasst. Dabei ist er grundlegend schwächer als der eMTB-Modus ausgelegt und eignet sich zum Akkusparen oder – besonders für leichte Fahrer – als weniger stürmische Alternative zum eMTB-Modus im technischen Uphill. Der Tour+ Modus ist übrigens seit Juli auch als Softwareupdate für den bisherigen Performance Line CX verfügbar. Weiterhin unverändert ist leider das metallische Klackern aus dem Inneren des Motors, wenn keine Leistung abgerufen wird. Es entsteht, sobald Kettenkräfte am Kettenblatt ziehen, wie sie z. B. beim Einfedern des Fahrwerks oder durch eine schlackernde Kette entstehen können. Besonders in ruppigen Passagen bergab, z. B. über Wurzeln und Bremswellen, ist das Geräusch auch in der neuesten Motorengeneration präsent. Schade!
Die LED-Remote und das neue Bosch Kiox 300 hingegen heben die Bedienung des neuen Motorsystems auf das nächste Level. In Sachen Lesbarkeit, Ergonomie, Logik, Bedienkomfort und Menüführung legt Bosch beim Smart System eine riesige Schippe drauf und integriert obendrein die neue eBike Flow-App nahtlos in das Motorsystem.

Endlich ist das Bosch-System – wie bei einigen Konkurrenten – modular, wodurch ihr selbst die Wahl habt, ob ihr mit oder ohne Display unterwegs sein wollt. Cool! Zumindest für alle zukünftigen Bike-Besitzer. Denn die neuen Software-Features wie anpassbare Unterstützungsstufen, die Displays sowie die neue Remote sind nicht mit dem aktuellen Bosch-System kompatibel. Die neue Systemarchitektur mit neuen Steckverbindungen an Akku, Display, Remotes und Motor lässt das nicht zu, ermöglicht dafür jedoch auch neue Features. Wir hätten uns aber vor allem für Touren- und Trekking-Fahrer gewünscht, dass das aktuelle und hervorragende Nyon-Navi-Display mit dem Smart System kompatibel wäre. Besonders sportiven Fahrern, die auf ein leichtfüßiges Handling ihres E-Mountainbikes Wert legen, dürfte außerdem der leichtere 625-Wh-Akku fehlen. Wir sind uns aber sicher, dass Bosch rund um das neue Smart System zahlreiche Komponenten und Software-Updates vorstellen wird.

Unser Testchef Felix ist endlich auch beim Bosch-Motor „Chef“. Ob mit oder ohne Display, das entscheidet jetzt nämlich jeder selbst. Prima!

Auf der positiven Seite: Der neue PowerTube 750 hat das Potenzial, die Reichweitenpanik vieler E-Mountainbiker ein für alle Mal zu begraben. Auch wenn sich die um 20 % gesteigerte Akkukapazität nicht direkt in 20 % mehr Reichweite ummünzen lässt, sind mit dem neuen PowerTube de facto noch längere Touren möglich als mit dem bisherigen PowerTube 625. Ob und inwieweit Gewicht und Größe des Akkus das Handling der neuesten E-Mountainbikes mit Smart System beeinflussen, hängt maßgeblich davon ab, wie die Ingenieure den neuen Akku ins Bike integrieren. Wir sind gespannt, mit welchen Lösungen die Bike-Hersteller in Zukunft aufwarten.

Bikes mit dem neuen Bosch Performance Line CX-Motor

Haibike AllMtn CF SE | Bosch Performance Line CX Smart System/750 Wh | 160/160 mm (v/h)
25,22 kg in Größe L | 7.999 € | Zum E-MOUNTAINBIKE-Artikel
GHOST E-RIOT AM Full Party | Bosch Performance Line CX Smart System/750 Wh | 160/160 mm (v/h) | 25,16 kg in Größe L | 6.999 € | Zum E-MOUNTAINBIKE-Artikel
BULLS Copperhead Evo AM 3 750 | Bosch Performance Line CX Smart System/750 Wh | 150/150 mm (v/h) | 26,5 kg | 5.099 € | Zum E-MOUNTAINBIKE-Artikel

Fazit

Mit dem neuen Bosch Performance Line CX Smart System hat sich die Fahrperformance auf dem Trail zwar kaum verändert, dafür aber die Usability und Ergonomie um Welten! Das intuitive, modulare System rund um Remote, Display und App ermöglicht in Zukunft selbst anpassbare Fahrmodi. Ärgerlich: Von den Neuerungen profitieren Besitzer eines aktuellen Bosch-Bikes leider nicht. Dennoch sind wir gespannt, wie die Bike-Hersteller den größeren Akku integrieren und welche Updates und Neuerungen uns in dem modularen System noch erwarten!

Mehr Infos unter: bosch-ebike.com


Hat dir dieser Artikel gefallen? Dann würde es uns sehr freuen, wenn auch du uns als Supporter mit einem monatlichen Beitrag unterstützt. Als E-MOUNTAINBIKE-Supporter sicherst du dem hochwertigen Bike-Journalismus eine nachhaltige Zukunft und sorgst dafür, dass der E-Mountainbike-Sport auch weiter ein kostenloses und frei zugängliches Leitmedium hat! Jetzt Supporter werden!

Text: Felix Stix Fotos: Robin Schmitt, Jonas Müssig

Über den Autor

Felix Stix

Felix ist Testchef und unbestritten einer der besten Testfahrer der Welt. Mit seinem abgeschlossenen Sports-Engineering-Studium, exzellenten MTB-Skills, einer Bike-Guide-Ausbildung und seiner Liebe zur Technik hat Felix alles, was es für eine umfassende und faire Beurteilung von Bikes braucht. Seine legendären Vergleichstests sind international bekannt und gefürchtet und werden aufgrund der ausführlichen Erläuterungen und technischen Erklärungen gerne mal ein bisschen länger. Pro Jahr testet er weit über 100 Bikes, seine Spezialgebiete sind Reifen, Motoren, Fahrwerke – und im Winter auch Ski! Sein Know-how fließt in jeden unserer Tests mit ein und trägt so zur hohen redaktionellen Qualität bei.