News

Good-bye motor problems? Software update released for all Brose motors, including the Specialized Levo/Kenevo and a 4-year guarantee

The Brose Drive S Mag is one of the best motors on the market. But it hasn’t been the most reliable. We repeatedly got letters about belts braking and also read about it in forums, which often resulted in having to replace the complete motor.

Both Brose and Specialized have now responded, since the hardware of the Specialized 2.1 motor is also based on the Brose Drive S Mag (click for review). At Specialized, the Levo models released between 2019 and 2020 were affected most, which also includes the motors on the 2020 Kenevo. Since this is a general Brose problem, the software update isn’t only recommended for Specialized bikes, but for all bikes equipped with Drive Mag S motors. Brose offer this update to all manufacturers.

Brose software update available now!

The motor manufacturer claims to have found the fault, and their solution is a software update that reduces certain peaks loads, putting less strain on the belt and thereby increasing its longevity. The software update shouldn’t have any negative effects on the motor’s performance. The latest motors will also come with reinforced belts and other technical improvements to improve noise reduction and durability. The software update is available now for all current motors and can be installed a your nearest dealership.

The hardware-based improvements come as standard on all new Brose motors.

Warranty extension for the Specialized Levo and Kenevo

To give Specialized riders added peace of mind, the American brand has chosen to extend the motor warranty of the affected models from 2 to 4 years from the date of purchase. The guarantee is transferable, so there shouldn’t be any problem when selling the bike or buying second hand. The four-year guarantee is not linked to any other conditions. Nevertheless, Specialized recommend registering the bike.


It's finally here: The E-MOUNTAINBIKE Print Edition 2020 is our third annual edition and ultimate test bible, with which we aim to help you choose the perfect eMTB. More than 250 pages of extensive buyers advice, tons of eMTB know-how as well as reviews of the 35 most exciting eMTBs and the 7 best motors. You’ll also find many helpful tips and a guide to the most exciting eMTB trends – all of this is wrapped in a high quality print format. Click here for more information or order it directly in our shop!

Words: Robin Schmitt Photos: Brose, E-MOUNTAINBIKE

About the author

Robin Schmitt

Robin is one of the two founders of 41 Publishing, a visionary and go-getter. While he now enjoys every second on the bike – whenever his busy schedule allows – he used to race against the clock at enduro events and a few Downhill World Cups. Besides that, Robin practises kung fu and Zen meditation, plays the cello or with his dog (which actually belongs to his girlfriend), tinkers on his 911 G series, travels abroad and still reviews numerous bikes himself. Progressive ideas, new projects and major challenges – Robin loves exploring undiscovered potential and getting to the bottom of new trends.

News

Ciao Motorprobleme? Software-Update für Brose-Motoren und Specialized Levo/Kenevo inkl. 4 Jahren Garantie

Der Brose Drive S Mag gehört zu den besten Motoren am Markt. Doch immer wieder gab es Probleme mit der Zuverlässigkeit, in Internet-Foren und auch in einigen Leserbriefen tauchten immer wieder Probleme mit einem gerissenen Riemen auf. In der Regel musste der Motor dann getauscht werden.

Sowohl Brose als auch Specialized als Bike-Hersteller haben nun reagiert. Denn auch die Hardware des Specialized 2.1 Motors basiert auf dem Brose Drive S Mag (zum Test). Bei Specialized waren vor allem die Levo-Modelle aus dem Modelljahr 2019 und 2020 also auch die 2020er Kenevo-Motoren betroffen. Da es sich hierbei um ein generelles Brose-Problem handelt, empfiehlt sich das Software-Update nicht nur für Specialized-Bikes, sondern für alle Bikes mit Drive Mag S-Motoren. Brose bietet dieses Update herstellerübergreifend an.

Brose-Software-Update ab sofort verfügbar!

Der Motoren-Hersteller will hierfür nun die Gründe gefunden haben und diese mit einem Software-Update beheben, das gewisse Belastungsspitzen für den Riemen reduziert und die Langlebigkeit erhöhen soll. Das Software-Update soll dabei keine negativen Auswirkungen auf die Motor-Performance haben. In neu-ausgelieferten Motoren sollen zudem verstärkte Riemen und weitere technische Verbesserungen für Geräuschminimierung und Langlebigkeit sorgen. Das Software-Update für alle aktuellen Motoren ist ab sofort verfügbar und kann bei einem Fachhändler durchgeführt werden.

Die Hardware-basierten Verbesserungen finden sich ab jetzt auch serienmäßig in allen neuen Brose-Motoren.

Garantie-Verlängerung für Specialized Levo und Kenevo

Um allen Specialized-Fahrern Gewissheit zu geben, verlängert die amerikanische Marke die Motorgarantie der betroffenen Modellreihen von 2 auf 4 Jahre ab Kaufdatum. Die Garantie ist übertragbar, sodass es keine Probleme geben sollte, wenn man das Bike verkauft. Der Garantieanspruch von 4 Jahren ist an keine weiteren Bedingungen geknüpft. Dennoch empfiehlt Specialized das Bike zu registrieren.


Endlich da: Die E-MOUNTAINBIKE Print-Edition 2020 ist die ultimative Testbibel, mit der wir dir helfen das perfekte E-Mountainbike zu finden. Auf 250 Seiten im hochwertigen Print-Format findest du eine umfassende Kaufberatung und Tests von 35 Bikes sowie der 7 wichtigsten Motoren. Außerdem gibt es jede Menge Know-how, Tipps und die aufregendsten E-MTB-Trends. Hier klicken für mehr Infos oder direkt in unserem Shop bestellen!

Text: Robin Schmitt Fotos: Brose, E-MOUNTAINBIKE

Über den Autor

Robin Schmitt

Robin ist einer der beiden Verlagsgründer und Visionär mit Macher-Genen. Während er jetzt – im strammen Arbeitsalltag – jede freie Sekunde auf dem Bike genießt, war er früher bei Enduro-Rennen und ein paar Downhill-Weltcups erfolgreich auf Sekundenjagd. Nebenbei praktiziert er Kung-Fu und Zen-Meditation, spielt Cello oder mit seinem Hund (der eigentlich seiner Freundin gehört!), schraubt an seinem 911 G-Modell, bereist fremde Länder und testet noch immer zahlreiche Bikes selbst. Progressive Ideen, neue Projekte und große Herausforderungen – Robin liebt es, Potenziale zu entdecken und Trends auf den Grund zu gehen.