Marketing is all about superlatives. New products are hyped with World Championship titles, race wins and pushy slogans. Yet quiet and unassuming Daniel Berger seems somehow at odds with the image of a poster-boy for marketing. Sitting down with him at DT Swiss’s HQ in Biel, it turns out his story is as authentic as himself.

It’s not surprising that Daniel Berger isn’t a household name. The 52-year-old Swiss prefers to keep a low profile. Yet with his role as Vice President Sales and Marketing at DT Swiss he’s amongst the most influential people in the business. He’s the guy responsible for determining which products go into development at DT Swiss, and how they’ll be marketed. In fact, you could argue he’s responsible for everything that relates to us as consumers.

For many, the hype surrounding E-MTBs can seem a little artificial; as if people’s desire to cut a slice of the e-bike pie has eclipsed any real convictions. Yet Daniel Berger is different. His eyes take on a real glint of excitement as soon as we touch on the topic of E-MTBs. It goes beyond being his preferred way to spend his free time, as he channels his passion into his work too. In his first season with an E-MTB, he scaled the height of Everest no fewer than 12 times. At work, he’s been dubbed E-Berger, a nickname he wears with pride. When we met him at DT Swiss’s HQ in Biel, he sat down with a warm smile to talk e-bikes, exertion and revolutions.

DT Swiss is considered one of the industry’s most influential wheel building brands. What sets you apart from the rest?

We’re very focused on quality, and this is something that we pursue across our whole range. We began with mountain bikes – a sector in which we’re really strong – but we’ve also developed into other areas. Right now one clear objective is to be equally as competitive in the road bike sector, and we’re covering the whole spectrum there. We’ve also really recently begun work into E-MTBs, where we see a lot potential.

You’re considered the brand’s main e-mountain biker, so how did you get into the sport?

I grew up with road and mountain bikes so I wasn’t that interested in the topic at first; I thought that e-bikes were just for riding around towns. Then back in October 2014 I had a chat with Thomas Pressl, the product manager at KTM, during the OEM fair, Taichung Bike Week, and he really piqued my interest. After two or three beers, he’d persuaded me and I ordered two KTM E-MTBs. I eventually took delivery of the bikes in February 2015 and I couldn’t wait to get out on a ride. The ice had finally been broken!
Suddenly I could go out on big rides again and do those huge climbs that had become quite hard work, and now they were fairly easily again. I could actually ride with the really fit younger guys once more, and I was totally hooked from the start. It didn’t take long before I realized that this could be something really interesting for DT Swiss too. We usually price ourselves out of urban riding, but E-MTBs were just on the way up and I really wanted us to be at the front of the pack.

Now you’re part of the management team at DT Swiss, but what was your position before you stepped up?

I studied business management near Bern and that was where I discovered mountain biking. In 1986 I got my first Specialized Stumpjumper, which was a revolutionary back then – that was when I knew for certain that I wanted to work in the bike industry. When I joined DT Swiss in March 1995, I was only their 28th employee. I was mainly responsible for sales, and then moved onto leading that department. Back then you basically did everything on your own: product management, marketing etc, we all chipped in as all-rounders. Everything was ‘klein aber fein’ as we say in German – small but perfectly formed. We were making around 4 to 5 million Swiss francs per year. These days we’ve got 800 employees across the globe. Seven years ago I took over responsibility for all the products and the marketing, and I still work a little with sales and distribution.

Have you kept your initial excitement with E-MTBs?

Definitely! In 2015 I clocked a pretty insane yearly total of 100,000 metres of climbing and 3,500 kilometres, which are figures I could only have dreamt of in recent years. The opportunities for people like me living in the Alps are massive. Suddenly I was able to do proper mountain rides and really push myself without immediately needing an oxygen tent. Instead of needing three or four days to recover, I can get out on a ride the very next day.
I realized how massive this topic could actually be. My situation isn’t unusual; so many of us started riding 30 years ago, but work or your body’s limitations then end up stopping you from doing the same. But then suddenly something pops up that you hadn’t considered possible. Throughout my first year [of E-MTBing] in 2015, I learned so much about the materials and technologies on e-bikes – but encountered a fair amount of issues.


Now you’re known at DT Swiss as E-Berger, where did this come from?

Well, now the subject here has become a little centered on me – but that was never my intention. I pushed the idea within the company really early on, although not everyone took it seriously straight away. But when you’ve been around as long as me you tend to stick by what you believe, and after six months it was clear to everyone that my intuition had been right. The hat I’m wearing now obviously isn’t my own design, but it was given to me by colleagues in a sales meeting after a speech I gave during the most recent EUROBIKE. I was a bit taken aback at first, but now I think what they’ve done is really cool.


You mentioned earlier that you’re now able to ride with riders on conventional mountain bikes, so do you often head out on group rides like that?

Every Tuesday evening I go out with a local group, a real mixed bunch. Most of them are really regular riders and in really good shape. In recent years it’s been pretty stressful, and the first half hour was usually hell. At my age I’ve turned into a bit of diesel, and it takes me a while to warm up and get into a pace. I realized that it wasn’t that much fun any longer.

Then I decided that either I’d just stop and ride at my own pace on my own, or I’d try it out with the e-bike. I wrote to the guys and they were really receptive to the suggestion so I’ve taken the E-MTB each time since. Of course, it’s not that challenging with an E-MTB so you ride a lot in the eco mode. And I don’t have any need to take drink or food, or anything really, so I can just really enjoy riding with the guys.

It almost sounds too idyllic to be true. Did nobody kick up a fuss at all that you’ve joined with a motor?

At the beginning they were skeptical, but that’s changing now. There’s a guy approaching his 50th birthday who wants to buy an E-MTB too. I always ride really sociably in the group, ride a lot in the pack and chat while riding. I think that’s really important to get their acceptance, as you can’t always ride up at the front. I’m certain that groups of riders will get even more mixed in the future. But one thing is for certain: I don’t just want to ride in the group, as that’d be too slow if I did it all the time.

So after hearing you can keep up really well on the climbs, how’s your E-MTB on the descents?

At the beginning I had to get to grips with its weight and didn’t feel quite at home straight away. After three or four rides I realized that I can ride an E-MTB with a lot more travel and much more aggressive tires. That’s what I’ve done and now I ride much faster and more confidently down descents than with my old bike.

You mentioned that you encountered a lot of issues with the bike. What do you see as the sticking points on E-MTBs?

That’d be primarily the drive, the chain, sprockets and chainrings, which were certainly vulnerable. The first motor [I had] was a Bosch Performance model, which was made quite rapidly and soon started to sound like a coffee grinder. But what I demanded of the motor was not really what it was designed for – I rode it with our forks and rear shock that we then analysed at the end of the year. You could notice the extra stresses on the e-bike very clearly. Brakes are another big topic; I’ve been through five sets of brake pads and one lot of discs in a year on my XT brakes, which is something I’ve never done before.

I didn’t have any actual problems with the wheels, but I could tell for certain that there would be problems in the long run under such force. The freewheel and bearings certainly suffer under such loads. Our wheels are developed and optimized for the various disciplines within mountain biking, but we’ve always got an eye on their weight and riding performance. They’re certainly not designed to be ridden how we ride our E-MTBs these days. At a top level, you’ve got a rider like me riding with 350 W, and then the motor brings out three times that figure in turbo mode. When it comes to torque, my peak may be 110 Nm, but add in the motor and you’re up to 170 – 180 Nm. Of course, these are just short bursts of high power, but all of these forces have to be dealt with.

Considering these observations, what have you passed onto DT Swiss to aid the development?

With E-MTBs there are brand new loads and stresses that we wanted to tackle. We didn’t want to simply just change one part; we’ve had to completely rethink the wheel design, right through to the smallest part. The result is what you’re seeing today in the new HYBRID wheels: the hubs have been altered, thicker casing, ball bearings, a steel freewheel, optimized flange for 2.34er spokes, nipples, rims – everything has been redeveloped for the performance demands of E-MTBs.

The market group of more performance-focused E-MTBers is going to grow in the future, including people like me who’d like to carry on riding in the same way that they did on a non motorised bike before. The issue here is certainly the mileage over many years; it’s such a new scene that there’s very little experience so far. Maximum system weight is another big objective in our developments; up until now our wheels were specified for 110 to 120 kg, and now we’re up to 150 kg, which was important for many manufacturers. Our HYBRID wheels really represent the starting gun for a top product that’s capable of meeting the requirements of ambitious e-mountain bikers.

What E-MTB are you riding these days?

HI’m riding a Trek Powerfly with 2.8″ plus-size tires, 150 mm suspension and a Bosch CX motor. I always take a spare battery, even though most of the time I don’t need it. I just don’t want to have that extra concern, and then I can happily do the really steep climbs in sport mode, or even turbo mode. On my local loop I’ve got a climb with a 32% gradient in parts – with the E-MTB I end up feeling like Nino Schurter.

Where do you see E-MTBs in five years?

Good question. I’d never have predicted the growth to have been this fast, and that we’d see such a relatively large number of E-MTBs on the market. I can’t really say whether this upward tangent will continue in such an explosive manner, but I’m certain that it’ll continue and be sustainable too. I’ve been part of a lot of trends that have blown over fairly quickly, take windsurfing, for example. And while a lot of people say that 90% of current riders will be riding E-MTBs in the future, I think that’s farfetched. E-MTBs will certainly stake their place in the world, and the developments will keep coming. But as a bike manufacturer I certainly wouldn’t stop investing in developing non motorized mountain bikes – that’d be a dangerous move.

Huge thanks for this really open conversation, Daniel! Have you got any closing thoughts?

I’m really happy to be a part of this E-MTB subject. Twenty years ago I played a role in the first revolution and now I’m still involved in the latest revolution with our HYBRID mission. I find it incredibly motivating, and there’s a lot I want to do before my retirement. I’m excited to see how it will all develop.

PS: Readers' Survey 2017 - Give feedback, win awesome prizes: We're giving away prizes worth more than €20,000 among all participants of our reader's survey! Win E-MTBs from Focus, Moustache and Thömus and more! Click here to take part now!

Words: Moritz Dittmar Photos: Valentin Rühl

Das Marketing ist voller Superlative. Neue Produkte werden mit Weltmeistertiteln, Rennsiegen und aufdringlichen Werbeslogans angepriesen. Daniel Berger wirkt auf den ersten Blick so gar nicht wie das perfekte Marketing-Aushängeschild, doch gerade deshalb ist seine Geschichte so authentisch wie er selbst.

Daniel Berger, nie gehört? Kein Wunder, der 52-jährige Schweizer bleibt gerne im Hintergrund, sein Auftritt wirkt bescheiden, bodenständig. Doch in seiner Position als Vice President Sales and Marketing bei DT Swiss zählt er zu den einflussreichsten Managern der Bikebranche. Er entscheidet, welche Produkte bei DT Swiss entwickelt werden und wie sie vermarktet werden – man könnte auch sagen, er verantwortet alles, was uns als Konsumenten betrifft.

Bei vielen Branchen-Insidern wirkt die E-Mountainbike-Euphorie noch etwas aufgesetzt. Schnell etwas vom großen E-Bike-Kuchen abzubekommen scheint wichtiger als echte innere Überzeugung. Nicht so bei Daniel Berger. Wenn er über das Thema E-Mountainbike spricht, funkeln seine Augen vor Begeisterung. Er ist selbst leidenschaftlicher E-Mountainbiker und überträgt diese Begeisterung auf seine Arbeit – in seiner ersten Saison mit dem E-MTB ist er zwölf Mal auf den Mount Everest gefahren, zumindest rechnerisch. Bei DT Swiss hat ihm das den Spitznamen E-Berger eingebracht, den er mit Stolz trägt. Wir haben uns mit ihm in der DT Swiss-Zentrale in Biel getroffen, um mehr über seine Geschichte zu erfahren.

DT Swiss gilt als der einflussreichste Laufradbauer der Branche. Was zeichnet euch als Firma heute aus?

Wir stehen ganz klar für hohe Qualität und verfolgen diese Richtung konsequent über alle Produktreihen. Angefangen hat alles im Bereich Mountainbike, wo wir sehr stark sind, aber inzwischen haben wir uns auch in den anderen Sparten weiterentwickelt. Wir haben jetzt klar das Ziel, auch bei Rennrädern vorne mitzumischen und decken hier das komplette Spektrum ab. Ganz neu hinzugekommen ist das Thema E-Mountainbiken, in dem wir sehr viel Potenzial sehen.

Du giltst ja in der Firma als der E-Mountainbiker schlechthin, wie bist du zum E-Mountainbiken gekommen?

Am Anfang hat mich das Thema gar nicht gereizt. Ich komme ja vom Rennrad und Mountainbike, ich dachte, E-Bikes sind nur was für die City. Im Oktober 2014 hab ich auf der OEM-Messe in Taichung mit Thomas Pressl gesprochen, Produktmanager bei KTM, und er hat mir das Thema schmackhaft gemacht. Nach zwei bis drei Bier hatte er mich dann so weit und ich habe 2 KTM-E-Mountainbikes bestellt. Im Februar 2015 wurden die Bikes dann endlich geliefert und ich konnte kaum erwarten, die erste Tour zu fahren – das Eis war sofort gebrochen.
Plötzlich konnte ich wieder große Touren fahren und Anstiege, die mir vorher mühsam vorkamen, gingen wieder relativ leicht von der Hand. Endlich konnte ich wieder mit den richtig fitten Jungs mithalten, es hat mich von der ersten Minute an richtig angefixt! Da war mir relativ schnell klar, dass das Thema auch für DT Swiss relevant sein wird. Im urbanen Bereich sind wir normalerweise immer zu teuer, aber E-Mountainbikes kamen ja gerade erst auf und da wollte ich unbedingt, dass wir ganz vorne dabei sind.

Heute gehörst du zur Führungsriege bei DT Swiss, aber das war nicht immer so. Welche Positionen hattest du in der Vergangenheit inne?

Ich hab in der Nähe in Bern Betriebswirtschaft studiert und dann das Mountainbiken für mich entdeckt. 1986 bin ich mit dem ersten Specialized Stumpjumper eingestiegen, das war ja eine echte Revolution damals. Von da an wusste ich, dass ich etwas in der Fahrradindustrie machen möchte.
Als ich im März 1995 bei DT Swiss angefangen habe, war ich der achtundzwanzigste Mitarbeiter im Betrieb. Ich war hauptsächlich für den Verkauf zuständig, den ich später dann auch geleitet habe. Damals hat man aber fast alles noch selbst gemacht, Produktmanagement, Marketing usw., da waren wir noch echte Allrounder. Zu der Zeit war es klein, aber fein, da haben wir so 4 bis 5 Millionen CHF (1995 ca. 5-6 Mio. DM) Umsatz gemacht – heute haben wir 800 Mitarbeiter weltweit. Vor sieben Jahren hab ich dann die Verantwortung für alle Produkte und das Marketing übernommen, teilweise hab ich aber immer noch mit dem Vertrieb zu tun.

Hat die anfängliche Begeisterung fürs E-Mountainbiken angehalten?

Auf jeden Fall! Ich hatte 2015 eine Wahnsinns-Jahresbilanz mit 100.000 hm und 3.500 km, von solchen Fahrleistungen konnte ich in den Vorjahren nur träumen. Die Möglichkeiten für Leute wie mich, die in den Alpen wohnen, sind enorm. Plötzlich konnte ich wieder richtige Bergtouren machen, bei denen ich mich zwar auspowern konnte, aber nicht gleich ein Sauerstoffzelt brauchte. Statt drei bis vier Tage Erholung zu brauchen, kann ich jetzt am nächsten Tag direkt wieder loslegen.
Da hab ich gemerkt: Das wird ein Riesenthema. Vielen geht es doch so wie mir, man hat vor 30 Jahren angefangen zu biken, hat aber beruflich und körperlich einfach nicht mehr die gleichen Möglichkeiten wie früher. Plötzlich tut sich da etwas auf, was man nicht für möglich gehalten hätte. In diesem ersten Jahr, also 2015, habe ich extrem viel über das Material und die Technologie von E-Bikes gelernt – und hatte viele Defekte.

Inzwischen nennt man dich bei DT nur noch E-Berger, was hat es damit auf sich?

Richtig, bei uns wird das Thema jetzt ein bisschen auf mich personifiziert, das war aber nie meine Intention. Ich habe recht früh mit dem Thema bei uns angefangen, damals haben viele auch gelacht und es nicht ganz ernst genommen. Wenn man so lange dabei ist wie ich, steht man da drüber, und nach einem halben Jahr war allen klar, dass meine erste Intuition schon in eine gute Richtung ging. Den Hut, den ich hier trage, habe ich natürlich auch nicht selbst designt, den habe ich bei der letzten EUROBIKE nach meiner Ansprache in unserem Sales Meeting von den Kollegen aufgesetzt bekommen. Da war ich erst mal ein bisschen verblüfft, aber heute find ich natürlich cool, was sie gemacht haben.

Du hast vorhin gesagt, du kannst mit dem E-MTB endlich auch wieder mit anderen mithalten, die auf unmotorisierten Bikes unterwegs sind. Fährst du regelmäßig in solchen Gruppen?

Ich fahr immer dienstagabends mit einer bunt gemischten Truppe bei mir zu Hause. Die meisten fahren sehr viel und sind richtig gut trainiert. In den letzten Jahren war es für mich nur noch Stress, die erste halbe Stunde war meistens die Hölle. Ich bin in meinem Alter ein bisschen wie ein Diesel, da muss man erst mal ein wenig warm werden, bevor man richtig durchziehen kann. Da hab ich gemerkt: So macht es einfach keinen Spaß mehr.

Also war für mich klar: Entweder höre ich auf und fahre nur noch für mich, oder ich probiere es mit dem E-Bike. Dann habe ich den Jungs geschrieben und sie waren sehr offen, was das Thema angeht, und so bin ich seitdem mit dem E-Mountainbike dabei. Mit dem E-MTB ist man natürlich immer ein bisschen unterfordert, da fährt man schon viel im Eco-Modus. Ich nehme aber auf jeden Fall nur noch das E-Bike, da brauche ich keine Getränke, kein Essen, gar nichts, und kann es absolut genießen, mit den Jungs zu fahren.

Das klingt ja fast zu harmonisch, um wahr zu sein! Hat es wirklich keinen gestört, dass du plötzlich mit Unterstützung mitgefahren bist?

Am Anfang waren alle recht skeptisch, jetzt kippt es langsam und der Nächste in der Gruppe möchte sich zum 50. Geburtstag ein E-MTB kaufen. Ich verhalte mich in der Gruppe immer sehr defensiv, fahre viel im Mittelfeld und rede mit den Jungs beim Fahren. Ich denke, das ist für die Akzeptanz sehr wichtig, da kann man nicht die ganze Zeit vorne fahren. In Zukunft werden wir sicherlich bunter gemischt fahren. Eins ist aber auch klar: Ich möchte nicht nur in der Gruppe fahren, denn das wäre mir auf Dauer zu langsam.

Bergauf hältst du jetzt also wieder super mit, wie fährt sich das E-MTB auf der Abfahrt?

Am Anfang hatte ich schon ein bisschen mit dem Gewicht zu kämpfen und hab mich nicht so ganz wohlgefühlt. Aber nach drei bis vier Mal hab ich gemerkt, dass ich beim E-MTB ja jetzt mehr Federweg und deutlich griffigere Reifen fahren kann. Inzwischen nutze ich das für mich und fahre schneller und sicherer bergab als mit meinem alten Bike.

Du hast erwähnt, dass du viele Defekte erlebt hast. Wo sind deiner Meinung nach die Knackpunkte am E-Mountainbike?

Die sind vor allem am Antrieb, an Ketten, Ritzeln und Kettenblättern, das war schon auffällig. Der erste Motor war noch ein Bosch Performance-Modell, der war auch relativ schnell durch und hat dann wie eine Kaffeemühle geklungen. Das, was ich mit dem Motor gemacht habe, war aber auch nicht vorgesehen. Ich bin auch unsere Gabel und unseren Dämpfer gefahren, die wir am Ende des Jahres analysiert haben. Da war die Mehrbelastung durch das E-Bike auf jeden Fall zu sehen und zu spüren. Bremsen sind natürlich auch ein Thema, an meiner XT-Bremse habe ich fünf Bremsbeläge und einen Satz Scheiben in einem Jahr gebraucht, das hatte ich noch nie.

Mit Laufrädern hatte ich keine Defekte, aber mir war klar, dass es bei diesen Kräften im Dauereinsatz Probleme geben würde. Freiläufe und Lager leiden schon deutlich unter der Belastung. Unsere Laufräder sind für die verschiedenen Segmente im Mountainbiken entwickelt und optimiert, aber immer mit einem Blick aufs Gewicht und auf eine gewisse Laufleistung. Auf das, was wir jetzt mit E-Mountainbikes machen, sind sie aber eigentlich gar nicht ausgelegt. In der Spitze tritt ein Fahrer wie ich selbst schon mal 350 W, und dann kommt im Turbo-Modus noch mal das Dreifache vom Motor dazu. Beim Drehmoment hatte ich Spitzen von 110 Nm, dazu kommt der Motor, dann ist man bei 170–180 Nm. Natürlich sind das nur kurzfristige Spitzen, aber dennoch müssen diese Kräfte aufgenommen werden.

Welche Konsequenzen für die Entwicklung habt ihr bei DT Swiss aus diesen Beobachtungen gezogen?

Mit dem E-MTB gibt es komplett neue Belastungen und die wollten wir angehen. Wir wollten nicht einfach ein Teil wechseln, wir haben das Laufrad wirklich neu überdacht, bis ins kleinste Detail. Was wir jetzt bei den neuen HYBRID-Laufrädern sehen, ist das Resultat. Naben wurden angepasst, dickere Gehäuse, Kugellager, Stahlfreiläufe, optimierte Flansche, die für 2,34er-Speichen angepasst wurden, Nippel, Felgen – alles wurde komplett für den Performance-Einsatz am E-Mountainbike entwickelt.

Die Zielgruppe sportlich ambitionierter E-Mountainbiker wird zukünftig wachsen. Leute wie ich, die genauso weiter biken möchten wie vorher mit dem unmotorisierten Bike. Das Thema ist hier klar die Laufleistung über mehrere Jahre, das Feld ist ja noch so jung, dass es hier bisher wenig Erfahrungen gibt. Das Systemgewicht war ein weiteres großes Entwicklungsziel, unsere bisherigen Laufräder lagen bei 110 bis 120 kg, jetzt sind wir bei 150 kg, das war vielen Herstellern wichtig. Mit unseren HYBRID-Laufrädern haben wir ein Top-Produkt am Start, das den Anforderungen eines anspruchsvollen E-Mountainbikers entspricht.

Was für ein E-MTB fährst du heute?

Heute fahr ich ein Trek Powerfly mit 2,8″-Plusreifen, 150 mm Federweg und Bosch CX-Motor. Ich habe immer einen Ersatzakku dabei, auch wenn ich ihn oft gar nicht brauche. Ich will aber einfach nicht drauf achten und fahre dann gerne auch im Sport-Modus oder auch mal Turbo bei sehr steilen Anstiegen. Auf meiner Hausrunde hab ich Steigungen bis 32 %, mit dem E-MTB fühle ich mich da wie Nino Schurter.

Wo siehst du E-Mountainbikes in fünf Jahren?

Eine gute Frage. Ich hätte selbst nicht gedacht, dass es so schnell geht, dass jetzt doch relativ große Mengen E-MTBs in die Märkte fließen. Ob das Wachstum weiter so explosionsartig verläuft, weiß ich nicht. Aber ich bin sicher, dass es weitergeht und auch nachhaltig sein wird. Ich habe viele Trends mitgemacht, die schnell wieder verpufft sind, z. B. Windsurfen. Manche sagen ja, dass 90 % künftig mit dem E-MTB fahren werden – das glaube ich nicht. Aber das E-MTB wird auf jeden Fall seinen Platz erobern und die Entwicklungen werden weitergehen. Als Fahrradhersteller würde ich die Entwicklung unmotorisierter Mountainbikes trotzdem nicht einstellen, das halte ich für gefährlich.

Vielen Dank für das offene Gespräch, Daniel! Was möchtest du noch loswerden?

Ich bin sehr froh, dass ich das Thema E-Mountainbike noch begleiten darf. Vor 20 Jahren habe ich die erste Revolution mitgemacht und jetzt bin ich bei der neuen Revolution dabei, der Mission HYBRID. Das motiviert mich ungemein, ich bin noch lange nicht fertig und bin gespannt, wie es weitergeht.

PS: Leserumfrage 2017 - Feedback geben und gewinnen: Unter allen Teilnehmern bei unserer Leserumfrage verlosen wir Preise im Wert von über 20.000 € - unter anderem E-Mountainbikes von Focus, Moustache und Thömus! Klicke hier um mitzumachen!

Text: Moritz Dittmar Fotos: Valentin Rühl, Daniel Berger