While MERIDA were unlikely to be the first brand you’d associate with potent E-MTBs in the past, this looks set to change in 2017 as they launch the fiery-hot new MERIDA eONE-TWENTY. You better look sharp, competition; this bike rocks some serious pedigree! Here’s our exclusive test review.

Before we come to most exciting part of this bike, there’s time to acquaint you with the spec of the eONE-TWENTY. As one of the first brands to sport the all-new Shimano E8000 system, MERIDA have even gone as far as to exclusively design a spot on their top-end bikes for this bit of kit. Our test bike brandished the P3 version of the motor, which unfortunately still had some teething problems when it came to system set-up – however, we’ve been assured that the P4 production version for next year has sufficiently tackled these issues. As confronted in our First Ride article on the Shimano Steps E8000, the levels of pedal-assist aren’t model quality; the ‘trail’ mode is on the feeble side for speed junkies, and the boost mode is just too formidable for some off-road riding.

The shiny new MERIDA eONE-TWENTY 900E with the as-yet-unfinalised spec.
The shiny new MERIDA eONE-TWENTY 900E with the as-yet-unfinalised spec.
Brand new, super compact and boasting a performance to rival the Bosch Performance CX motor – meet the Shimano Steps E8000 motor with 500 Wh battery.
Brand new, super compact and boasting a performance to rival the Bosch Performance CX motor – meet the Shimano Steps E8000 motor with 500 Wh battery.
Paired with Shimano Di2 shifters, the screen displays the current gear, charge and level of pedal-assist.
Paired with Shimano Di2 shifters, the screen displays the current gear, charge and level of pedal-assist.
Identical triggers for both sides, with the left setting the motor’s pedal-assist and the right lever for the gears.
Identical triggers for both sides, with the left setting the motor’s pedal-assist and the right lever for the gears.
The future of gear changing? Electronic shifters make total sense on E-MTBs. The series 900E top model will feature the XT Di2 (shown here is the XTR Di2 system).
The future of gear changing? Electronic shifters make total sense on E-MTBs. The series 900E top model will feature the XT Di2 (shown here is the XTR Di2 system).

While performance, behaviour, power delivery and battery running time are on a par with the well-known Bosch Performance CX motor, the design of the Shimano Steps has the edge given its much more compact design. This gave the designers the liberty to create a bike with pacier geometry, mainly through shorter chainstays and the like. The E8000 can be teamed with Shimano’s electronic Di2 shifters too, which is exactly what our top-of-the-range 900E was donning (the series bike will have XT Di2 with a bigger 11-46 cassette). The trigger lever on the left switches between the three levels of pedal-assist, and the right performs its regular shifting duty. There’s a super practical noise when you reach the end of the cassette and are still trying to shift, so keep sharp. The current gear is also visible on the display, which is super easy to read and stylishly integrated onto the bars, showing all the relevant info like the current level of support and the state of the battery. There’s also talk of a smartphone app that’ll appear shortly and will reveal even more info while also allowing you to adjust various settings.

Ever dependent, the RockShox Deluxe RT rear shock does its job inconspicuously – exactly how it should be.
Ever dependent, the RockShox Deluxe RT rear shock does its job inconspicuously – exactly how it should be.
Plus-size tires have often suffered a lack of grip, but the new Maxxis DHR II+ should deliver this in abundance to the eONE-TWENTY whatever the conditions.
Plus-size tires have often suffered a lack of grip, but the new Maxxis DHR II+ should deliver this in abundance to the eONE-TWENTY whatever the conditions.

The rest of the MERIDA eONE-TWENTY 900E’s spec is a beguiling read, seeing it rely on the proven RockShox PIKE RCT3 forks with 130 mm travel, gain traction from the brand new Deluxe RT rear shock with 125 mm travel. There are 200 mm front disc brake rotors and 180 mm ones at the rear working reliably and powerfully with Shimano XT brakes. Then there are the wide 2.8″ MAXXIS plus-size tires rolling on lightweight yet robust DT Swiss XM1501 wheels that dig in with great grip. Maneuvering freedom on the descents is permitted courtesy of a RockShox Reverb Stealth seatpost with 125 mm of adjustment. MERIDA take full responsibility for the cockpit, opting for well-chosen 760 mm-wide bars and a 60 mm stem. It’s hard to highlight any weaknesses in the spec – particularly considering that the 900E top model retails at a notch under € 5,300.

First Ride Merida eONE-TWENTY Review 015

Riding the MERIDA eONE-TWENTY

Now to the juicy bits: how does the eONE-TWENTY actually ride on the trails? First off, it’s crucial to note that it hasn’t been designed for mellow weekend rides (although it would definitely pass muster); MERIDA have designed the eONE-TWENTY as a pedigree trail bike for serious shredding. And it pulls it off! Thanks to the compact motor and subsequent design, the snappily short chainstays lend the bike a seriously lively edge, turning even the most yawn-inducing trail into a hotbed of carving and poppy turns. Its geometry and riding position make you want to go fast, but never once does it become twitchy or ruffled at high speeds. In short, it’s responsive without being reactionary and rides with great stability.

First Ride Merida eONE-TWENTY Review 012

The riding positon is really natural, and the stiff rear end makes it a really responsive bike when you make a bid to pick up the pace. In general, the suspension set-up works brilliantly, embracing every millimeter of travel without getting over familiar with its threshold. Right from the first pedal stroke, the idea of riding an actual tank – remember it tips the scales at 21.3 kg – is forgotten (or should that be forgiven?). Given its snappy geometry, we did wonder about suffering on the climbs: fortunately, MERIDA came out strong and kept up the game, with the front wheel staying firmly planted, no matter how dodgy the line choice. Chapeau, team!

First Ride Merida eONE-TWENTY Review 011

Specs of the MERIDA eONE-TWENTY

MERIDA eONE-TWENTY 900E

  • Forks: RockShox Pike RCT3
  • Rear shock: RockShox Deluxe RT
  • Shifters: Shimano XT with 11-46 Cassette
  • Brakes: Shimano XT
  • Wheelset: DT Swiss XM1501 Spline
  • Tires: Maxxis DHR 2 27.5+ 2.8 / Maxxis Recon 27.5+ 2.8 (v/h)
  • Cockpit: Merida Expert
  • Seatpost: RockShox Reverb Stealth
  • Saddle: Merida Expert
  • Price: € 5,299

Merida eONE-TWENTY 800

  • Forks: RockShox Yari
  • Rear shock: RockShox Deluxe RT
  • Shifters: Shimano XT/SLX
  • Brakes: Shimano SLX
  • Wheelset: Merida Expert with Shimano Deore hubs
  • Tires: Maxxis DHR 2 27.5+ 2.8 / Maxxis Recon 27.5+ 2.8 (v/h)
  • Cockpit: Merida Expert
  • Seatpost: Merida Expert Dropper
  • Saddle: Merida Sport
  • Price: € 4,099

Merida eONE-TWENTY 500

  • Forks: FOX Rythm 34
  • Rear shock: RockShox Deluxe R
  • Shifters: Shimano Deore
  • Brakes: Shimano M605
  • Wheelset: Merida Expert with Shimano Deore hubs
  • Tires: Maxxis DHR 2 27.5+ 2.8 / Maxxis Recon 27.5+ 2.8 (v/h)
  • Cockpit: Merida Expert
  • Seatpost: Merida Expert Dropper
  • Saddle: Merida Sport
  • Price: € 3,899

Geometry of the Merida eONE-TWENTY

Size S M L XL
Seat tube height 400 mm 440 mm 490 mm 540 mm
Top tube 583 mm 601 mm 623 mm 646 mm
Head tube 110 mm 120 mm 130 mm 140 mm
Head tube angle 67,5° 67,5° 67,5° 67,5°
Seat tube angle 75° 75° 75° 75°
Chainstay 439.5 mm 439.5 mm 439.5 mm 439.5 mm
BB drop 27,5 mm 27,5 mm 27,5 mm 27,5 mm
Reach 420 mm 435 mm 455 mm 475 mm
Stack 609 mm 619 mm 628 mm 637 mm

Primed in time for our next whooper of a Group Test in the upcoming E-MOUNTAINBIKE issue #008, we’ve just taken delivery of a virtually finalized eONE-TWENTY test model that sports the definitive paintjob. After faring exceedingly well on its own, we’re stoked to see how it’ll match up against the best of the bunch for 2017.

For more information head to merida-bikes.com

Words: Andreas Maschke Photos: Noah Haxel

Try it out for yourself!


Nothing beats trying before buying!
Click on one of the buttons to test this Merida .

MERIDA war bisher nicht unbedingt die Marke, mit der man potente E-Mountainbikes in Verbindung gebracht hätte – doch das wird sich 2017 gehörig ändern und so manch ein anderer Hersteller wird sich warm anziehen müssen: Das neue MERIDA eONE-TWENTY rockt! Und zwar richtig! Wieso? Das erfahrt ihr in unserem exklusiven Test.

Ausstattung des MERIDA eONE-TWENTY

Bevor wir zum wirklich spannenden Teil übergehen, möchten wir euch kurz mit der Ausstattung des eONE-TWENTY vertraut machen. Schließlich ist MERIDA einer der ersten Hersteller, der den neuen Shimano E8000-Antrieb verbaut bzw. der die Räder seiner Performance-Toplinie ausschließlich darauf konstruiert hat. Wir konnten im Testrad die P3-Version des Motors fahren, die zwar noch über leichte Kinderkrankheiten in der Motorsteuerung verfügt. Diese sollen aber mit der P4-Produktionsversion für nächstes Jahr behoben sein. Wie bereits im First Ride-Artikel zum Shimano Steps E8000 beschrieben, sind so z. B. die Unterstützungsstufen etwas unglücklich gewählt. Der Trail-Modus für die Geschwindigkeits-Junkies bietet zu wenig und der Boost-Modus zu viel Unterstützung im Gelände.

Das nagelneue MERIDA eONE-TWENTY 900E. Hier noch nicht in Serienfarbe bzw. im Detail mit noch nicht ganz finalem Spec.
Das nagelneue MERIDA eONE-TWENTY 900E. Hier noch nicht in Serienfarbe bzw. im Detail mit noch nicht ganz finalem Spec.
Brandneu, super kompakt und leistungstechnisch auf Bosch Performance CX-Niveau – der Shimano Steps E8000-Antrieb mit 500-Wh-Akku.
Brandneu, super kompakt und leistungstechnisch auf Bosch Performance CX-Niveau – der Shimano Steps E8000-Antrieb mit 500-Wh-Akku.
Kombiniert mit einem Shimano Di2-Schaltwerk lassen sich am gleichen Display Infos zu Unterstützungsstufe, Ladezustand und gewähltem Gang ablesen.
Kombiniert mit einem Shimano Di2-Schaltwerk lassen sich am gleichen Display Infos zu Unterstützungsstufe, Ladezustand und gewähltem Gang ablesen.
Die Trigger auf beiden Seiten identisch. Hier wird links die Unterstützungsstufe des Motors gewählt und am rechten Hebel wie gewohnt der Gang.
Die Trigger auf beiden Seiten identisch. Hier wird links die Unterstützungsstufe des Motors gewählt und am rechten Hebel wie gewohnt der Gang.
Die Zukunft des Gangwechsels? Elektronische Schaltwerke machen zumindest am E-Mountainbike Sinn. In Serie kommt das 900E-Topmodell dann mit XT Di2 statt des hier zu sehenden XTR Di2.
Die Zukunft des Gangwechsels? Elektronische Schaltwerke machen zumindest am E-Mountainbike Sinn. In Serie kommt das 900E-Topmodell dann mit XT Di2 statt des hier zu sehenden XTR Di2.

Insgesamt ähnelt der Antrieb in Sachen Leistung, Fahrverhalten, Kraftentfaltung und Akkulaufzeit dem bekannten Bosch Performance CX-Antrieb, jedoch ist die Bauform um einiges kompakter. So lassen sich unter anderem deutlich sportlichere Geometrien realisieren. Ein weiterer Vorteil ist die Kombinationsmöglichkeit mit den elektronischen Shimano Di2-Schaltungen, über die auch unser gefahrenes Top-Modell 900E verfügt (Serie: XT Di2 mit großer 11–46-Kassette). Der Trigger links ist für die Steuerung der drei Unterstützungsstufen zuständig, der rechte wie gehabt für die Schaltung. Sehr praktisch ist hier das akustische Warnsignal, wenn man am Ende der Kassette angekommen ist und darüber hinaus schalten will. Das hervorragend ablesbare und schön integrierte Display zeigt sowohl Informationen zur momentanen Unterstützungsstufe, zum Akkustand als auch zum momentan eingelegten Gang. In Zukunft sollen sich per Smartphone-App noch weitere Informationen auslesen bzw. Einstellungen tätigen lassen.

Der RockShox Deluxe RT-Dämpfer verrichtet unauffällig und zuverlässig seinen Dienst – so soll es sein.
Der RockShox Deluxe RT-Dämpfer verrichtet unauffällig und zuverlässig seinen Dienst – so soll es sein.
Griffige Reifen waren im Plus-Bereich bisher noch Mangelware. Mit dem neuen Maxxis DHR II+ dürfte das eONE-TWENTY jedoch über ausreichend Grip in allen Lagen verfügen.
Griffige Reifen waren im Plus-Bereich bisher noch Mangelware. Mit dem neuen Maxxis DHR II+ dürfte das eONE-TWENTY jedoch über ausreichend Grip in allen Lagen verfügen.

Die restliche Ausstattung des MERIDA eONE-TWENTY 900E ist makellos. Eine bewährte RockShox PIKE RCT3-Gabel (130 mm Federweg) sowie ein nagelneuer Deluxe RT-Dämpfer (125 mm Federweg) kümmern sich um die Traktion, Shimanos XT-Bremsen liefern mit 200er-Scheibe vorn und 180er hinten zuverlässige und kraftvolle Bremspower und die 2,8″ breiten MAXXIS-Plusreifen auf den leichten, robusten DT Swiss XM1501-Laufrädern sorgen für ordentlich Grip. Eine RockShox Reverb Stealth-Sattelstütze mit 125 mm Hub sorgt für Bewegungsfreiheit und das Cockpit aus hauseigenen Parts ist mit 760 mm Lenkerbreite und 60-mm-Vorbau für den Einsatzzweck perfekt bemessen. Insgesamt leistet sich MERIDA hier absolut keine Schwächen – vor allem bei einem hervorragenden Preis von 5.300 € für das 900E-Topmodell.

First Ride Merida eONE-TWENTY Review 015

Fahrverhalten des MERIDA eONE-TWENTY

Nun zum wirklich spannenden Teil: Wie fährt es sich? Zuerst muss hier klargestellt werden, dass MERIDA das eONE-TWENTY nicht als Tourenbike für den gemütlichen Wochenendausflug konzipiert hat (auch wenn man das sicher machen kann), sondern als waschechtes Trailbike zum Abheizen. Und das kann man! Vor allem die – dank des kompakten Motors – knackig kurzen Kettenstreben machen das eONE-Twenty super agil und verspielt und lassen selbst den langweiligsten Trail zur Spielwiese werden. Die restliche Geometrie ist in Richtung sportlich und eher etwas gestreckt getrimmt, aber sehr ausgewogen. Reaktionsfreudig, aber nicht nervös, laufruhig bei Highspeed, aber dennoch extrem wendig im Baumslalom.

First Ride Merida eONE-TWENTY Review 012

Man steht sehr integriert im Bike und auch Sprints fühlen sich dank des guten Supports vom Hinterbau sehr natürlich an. Das Fahrwerk ist allgemein sehr ausgewogen, der Federweg wird effizient genutzt und die Dämpfung ist nie überfordert. Kurzum, das eONE-TWENTY fühlt sich auf Anhieb verdammt gut an und nach wenigen Minuten hat man völlig vergessen, dass man hier eigentlich einen 21,3 kg schweren Panzer durch die Gegend zirkelt. Man könnte meinen, dass eine derart spaßorientierte, knackige Geometrie dann im Uphill negativ auffallen müsste, doch das MERIDA leistet sich auch hier keine Schwächen und erklimmt steile Abschnitte ohne steigendes Vorderrad oder Probleme bei der exakten Linienwahl. Hut ab, hier stimmt wirklich alles!

First Ride Merida eONE-TWENTY Review 011

Ausstattung des MERIDA eONE-TWENTY

MERIDA eONE-TWENTY 900E

  • Gabel: RockShox Pike RCT3
  • Dämpfer: RockShox Deluxe RT
  • Schaltung: Shimano XT mit 11-46 Kassette
  • Bremsen: Shimano XT
  • Laufradsatz: DT Swiss XM1501 Spline
  • Reifen: Maxxis DHR 2 27.5+ 2.8 / Maxxis Recon 27.5+ 2.8 (v/h)
  • Cockpit: Merida Expert
  • Sattelstütze: RockShox Reverb Stealth
  • Sattel: Merida Expert
  • Preis: 5.299 €

Merida eONE-TWENTY 800

  • Gabel: RockShox Yari
  • Dämpfer: RockShox Deluxe RT
  • Schaltung: Shimano XT/SLX
  • Bremsen: Shimano SLX
  • Laufradsatz: Merida Expert mit Shimano Deore Nabe
  • Reifen: Maxxis DHR 2 27.5+ 2.8 / Maxxis Recon 27.5+ 2.8 (v/h)
  • Cockpit: Merida Expert
  • Sattelstütze: Merida Expert Dropper
  • Sattel: Merida Sport
  • Preis: 4.099 €

Merida eONE-TWENTY 500

  • Gabel: FOX Rythm 34
  • Dämpfer: RockShox Deluxe R
  • Schaltung: Shimano Deore
  • Bremsen: Shimano M605
  • Laufradsatz: Merida Expert mit Shimano Deore Naben
  • Reifen: Maxxis DHR 2 27.5+ 2.8 / Maxxis Recon 27.5+ 2.8 (v/h)
  • Cockpit: Merida Expert
  • Sattelstütze: Merida Expert Dropper
  • Sattel: Merida Sport
  • Preis: 3.899 €

Geometrie des Merida eONE-TWENTY

Größe S M L XL
Sitzrohr 400 mm 440 mm 490 mm 540 mm
Oberrohr 583 mm 601 mm 623 mm 646 mm
Steuerrohr 110 mm 120 mm 130 mm 140 mm
Lenkwinkel 67,5° 67,5° 67,5° 67,5°
Sitzwinkel 75° 75° 75° 75°
Kettenstrebe 439.5 mm 439.5 mm 439.5 mm 439.5 mm
BB drop 27,5 mm 27,5 mm 27,5 mm 27,5 mm
Reach 420 mm 435 mm 455 mm 475 mm
Stack 609 mm 619 mm 628 mm 637 mm

Wir haben soeben von MERIDA ein seriennahes eONE-TWENTY-Testmodell mit finaler Lackierung erhalten, das am nächsten großen Vergleichstest der E-MOUNTAINBIKE-Ausgabe #008 teilnehmen wird – und wir sind gespannt, wie es sich im direkten Vergleich mit den besten und interessantesten Bikes der Saison 2017 schlagen wird!

Mehr Infos auf der MERIDA Website

PS: Leserumfrage 2017 - Feedback geben und gewinnen: Unter allen Teilnehmern bei unserer Leserumfrage verlosen wir Preise im Wert von über 20.000 € - unter anderem E-Mountainbikes von Focus, Moustache und Thömus! Klicke hier um mitzumachen!

Text: Andreas Maschke Fotos: Noah Haxel

Teste dieses Bike selbst


Nichts geht über eine persönliche Probefahrt.
Klicke auf einen der Buttons um das Merida zu testen.